Skip to main content

View Diary: What is National Popular Vote, and why should we care (187 comments)

Comment Preferences

  •  At the current rate of progress... (0+ / 0-)

    this system will be in place in 2020 at the latest. See graph in this article.

    •  Sooner is more likely (0+ / 0-)

      The National Popular Vote bill has passed 31 state legislative chambers, in 21 small, medium-small, medium, and large population states, including one house in Arkansas(6), Connecticut (7), Delaware (3), The District of Columbia, Maine (4), Michigan (16), Nevada (6), New Mexico (5), New York (29), North Carolina (15), and Oregon (7), and both houses in California (55), Colorado (9), Hawaii, Illinois, New Jersey, Maryland, Massachusetts, Rhode Island (4), Vermont, and Washington. The bill has been enacted by the District of Columbia (3), Hawaii (4), Illinois (19), New Jersey (14), Maryland (11), California (55), Massachusetts (10), Vermont (3), and Washington (13). These nine jurisdictions have 132 electoral votes -- 49% of the 270 necessary to bring the law into effect.

      The 12 states that have passed it, in at least one chamber, without yet enacting it, total 111 electoral votes.


Subscribe or Donate to support Daily Kos.

Click here for the mobile view of the site