Skip to main content

View Diary: Republicans still furious at Chris Christie for being governor (211 comments)

Comment Preferences

  •  Yes, let's look at Iowa (0+ / 0-)
    Republican voters in Iowa, the first state to select presidential candidates, “don’t forget things like this,” Mr. Gross said.
    Let's see.  Who have Iowa Republicans picked as their candidates?

    1979: Iowa winner -  George H.W. Bush; Republican candidate - Ronald Reagan

    1987: Iowa winner - Bob Dole; Republican candidate - George Bush

    1995: Iowa winner - Bob Dole; Republican candidate - Bob Dole; President - Clinton

    1999: Iowa winner - George Bush; President - Bush (and look how well that worked out)

    2007: Iowa winner - Mitt Romney; Republican candidate - John McCain; President - Barack Obama

    2011: Iowa winner - Michele Bachmann; Republican candidate - Mitt Romney; President - Barack Obama

    So, the only time Iowans got their selected guy in at least 30 years was Dubya in 1999. George W. Bush, the guy who fucked up the entire world. Using history as a guide, we should ignore what Iowa Republicans think at all cost.

    •  Oops, mistake in 2011 (0+ / 0-)

      Michele Bachmann won the Ames Straw Poll.  Rick Santorum won the Iowa Caucus.  I'm not quite sure which reflects more poorly on Iowa Republicans.

Subscribe or Donate to support Daily Kos.

Click here for the mobile view of the site