Skip to main content

View Diary: It Is Time (190 comments)

Comment Preferences

  •  So... (none)
    How did the prospective Dem nominees vote on the above mentioned "justices?" Granted, they didn't nominate them, but how did they vote?
    •  How did they vote? (none)
      On Brown, Pryor, and Owen -- the most contested nominees last year -- they all voted against the nominees.  Michael McConnell was confirmed by unanimous consent in 2000, so there is no record of votes.  Michael Luttig and Emilio Garza also were confirmed by unanimous consent.  I do not know about Edith Jones and Harvie Wilkinson, but I know Harvie Wilkinson, was required to go through a cloture vote before his nomination (in 1984) because of concern about his civil rights record.  Ted Olson won barely won confirmation for Solicitor General in 2001, and the only Democrats to vote for him were Zell Miller (D-Ga.) and Ben Nelson (D-Neb.).

Subscribe or Donate to support Daily Kos.

Click here for the mobile view of the site