OK

This is only a Preview!

You must Publish this diary to make this visible to the public,
or click 'Edit Diary' to make further changes first.

Posting a Diary Entry

Daily Kos welcomes blog articles from readers, known as diaries. The Intro section to a diary should be about three paragraphs long, and is required. The body section is optional, as is the poll, which can have 1 to 15 choices. Descriptive tags are also required to help others find your diary by subject; please don't use "cute" tags.

When you're ready, scroll down below the tags and click Save & Preview. You can edit your diary after it's published by clicking Edit Diary. Polls cannot be edited once they are published.

If this is your first time creating a Diary since the Ajax upgrade, before you enter any text below, please press Ctrl-F5 and then hold down the Shift Key and press your browser's Reload button to refresh its cache with the new script files.

ATTENTION: READ THE RULES.

  1. One diary daily maximum.
  2. Substantive diaries only. If you don't have at least three solid, original paragraphs, you should probably post a comment in an Open Thread.
  3. No repetitive diaries. Take a moment to ensure your topic hasn't been blogged (you can search for Stories and Diaries that already cover this topic), though fresh original analysis is always welcome.
  4. Use the "Body" textbox if your diary entry is longer than three paragraphs.
  5. Any images in your posts must be hosted by an approved image hosting service (one of: imageshack.us, photobucket.com, flickr.com, smugmug.com, allyoucanupload.com, picturetrail.com, mac.com, webshots.com, editgrid.com).
  6. Copying and pasting entire copyrighted works is prohibited. If you do quote something, keep it brief, always provide a link to the original source, and use the <blockquote> tags to clearly identify the quoted material. Violating this rule is grounds for immediate banning.
  7. Be civil. Do not "call out" other users by name in diary titles. Do not use profanity in diary titles. Don't write diaries whose main purpose is to deliberately inflame.
For the complete list of DailyKos diary guidelines, please click here.

Please begin with an informative title:

Last night, Jon Stewart and Larry Wilmore discussed what the societal culprits are behind the Trayvon Martin shooting.

BERNIE GOLDBERG (3/27/2012): National media doesn't do stories about black-on-black crime.

GRETCHEN CARLSON (3/30/2012): Where's the outrage about the black-on-black crime?

JUAN WILLIAMS (4/1/2012): Nobody has a march for them.  It's outrageous.

JON STEWART: For more, we're joined by Senior Black Correspondent Larry Wilmore.  Larry?

LARRY WILMORE: Thank you, Jon.  Two things.  One, no one has marches against black-on-black violence?  Hmm... well, these are just a few from the last six months.


What do you think these people are doing?  You think there's that many Tyler Perry movie openings?

JON STEWART: Actually, I think there might be that many Tyler Perry movie openings.

LARRY WILMORE: And number two, the difference between the Trayvon Martin shooting and black-on-black crime is that word crime.  You know, that thing that people get arrested for?  Since the court of public opinion is the only court that will take the case, everyone feels the need to jump in and defend or condemn Zimmerman.  To the right, he's an unfairly victimized Dudley Do-Right, and to the left, he's Elmer Fudd hunting down black people.  (in Elmer Fudd voice)  "Shh!  Be vewwy quiet.  I'm wacially pwofiling Negros, hahahahahaha."

JON STEWART: That is a very good Elmer Fudd.

LARRY WILMORE: Thank you, Jon, thank you.  Look, the point is somehow the death of a 17-year-old kid got turned into a chance to score ideological points.

DON LEMON (4/1/2012): Please don't send me any more tweets about having this conversation that I'm a racist or I'm a racebaiter. ... (reads tweet) "Don Lemon, you are a racist, you are fixated on this one issue over and over.  We want to hear the news, not your personal agenda.  Go work for BET."
(audience groans in disgust)

LARRY WILMORE: Go work for BET?  Fuck you!!  What is that?  Twitter-speak for "Go back to Africa"?

....

LARRY WILMORE: With this defense, you don't even have to go in front of a jury.  You tell the cops at the scene of the crime you were standing your ground, and they'll give you the benefit of the doubt.  That's the culprit.

JON STEWART: Ah-hah!  The benefit of the doubt... is racist!

LARRY WILMORE: Exactly, Jon.  Exactly.

JON STEWART: I don't know... wait, black people don't get the benefit of the doubt?

LARRY WILMORE: In shooting cases??  It's the one entitlement black people can't get from the government, Jon!  (audience ooooohs)  Oh, shut up.  Plaxico Burress went to prison for two years when his gun accidentally went off in his pants!  He couldn't get the benefit of the doubt for shooting himself!  By the way, black-on-black crime, widely reported.

JON STEWART: But, so, you think white people get more benefit of the doubt in shooting cases?

LARRY WILMORE: Well, maybe not even consciously, Jon.  But look, when Vice President Cheney shot his buddy in the face, aww, it was just two white guys having fun with guns!  Right?  Hey, you pumped your buddy full of bird shot?  You didn't mean that.  I give you the benefit of the doubt.  But come on, Jon.  Can you imagine if Obama shot Eric Holder in the face?  Come on.  Trust me, one of those fuckers would be going to jail.  The only thing in doubt would be the length of the sentence.

Video and full transcript below the fold.
Intro

You must enter an Intro for your Diary Entry between 300 and 1150 characters long (that's approximately 50-175 words without any html or formatting markup).

You know, the country, this country of ours, remains sharply divided over the tragic killing of Trayvon Martin by George Zimmerman.  But lately there's been a new suggestion that maybe we shouldn't be focusing on this one incident so much at all.
JUAN WILLIAMS (4/1/2012): Nobody says a word about the fact that almost half of the murders in the United States are of black people, and 90% of them are committed by other black people.

BERNIE GOLDBERG (3/27/2012): National media doesn't do stories about black-on-black crime.

GRETCHEN CARLSON (3/30/2012): Where's the outrage about the black-on-black crime?

JUAN WILLIAMS (4/1/2012): Nobody has a march for them.  It's outrageous.

JON STEWART: For more, we're joined by Senior Black Correspondent Larry Wilmore.  Larry?

LARRY WILMORE: Thank you, Jon.  Two things.  One, no one has marches against black-on-black violence?  Hmm... well, these are just a few from the last six months.


What do you think these people are doing?  You think there's that many Tyler Perry movie openings?

JON STEWART: Actually, I think there might be that many Tyler Perry movie openings.

LARRY WILMORE: And number two, the difference between the Trayvon Martin shooting and black-on-black crime is that word crime.  You know, that thing that people get arrested for?  Since the court of public opinion is the only court that will take the case, everyone feels the need to jump in and defend or condemn Zimmerman.  To the right, he's an unfairly victimized Dudley Do-Right, and to the left, he's Elmer Fudd hunting down black people.  (in Elmer Fudd voice)  "Shh!  Be vewwy quiet.  I'm wacially pwofiling Negros, hahahahahaha."

JON STEWART: That is a very good Elmer Fudd.

LARRY WILMORE: Thank you, Jon, thank you.  Look, the point is somehow the death of a 17-year-old kid got turned into a chance to score ideological points.

BARACK OBAMA (3/23/2012): If I had a son, he'd look like Trayvon.

NEWT GINGRICH (3/28/2012): Is the President suggesting that if it had been a white kid who had been shot, that would be OK because it didn't look like him? ... Disgraceful.

REP. FREDERICA WILSON, D-FL (3/28/2012): Trayvon was hunted down like a rabid dog.

SEAN HANNITY (3/28/2012): Why even have a trial based on what some members of Congress are saying?

DON LEMON (4/1/2012): Please don't send me any more tweets about having this conversation that I'm a racist or I'm a racebaiter. ... (reads tweet) "Don Lemon, you are a racist, you are fixated on this one issue over and over.  We want to hear the news, not your personal agenda.  Go work for BET."

(audience groans in disgust)

LARRY WILMORE: Go work for BET?  Fuck you!!  What is that?  Twitter-speak for "Go back to Africa"?

JON STEWART: So the right, they've got to defend people who are maybe legitimately sick of being called racist, and the left is defending people who are legitimately concerned about racial profiling.  But it seems we can't even begin to talk about this actual case, because it just devolves into people leveling or defending themselves against charges of racism.

LARRY WILMORE: Exactly, Jon.  That's exactly right.  That's why we're going to have a racist timeout.  (takes out kitchen timer)

JON STEWART: What?

LARRY WILMORE: America, for the next five minutes, no matter what is said, nobody's racist.

JON STEWART: A racist timeout!  This is.... (speechless)

LARRY WILMORE: Jon, focus.  The point is this.  If we remove accusations of racism, we can finally talk calmly about the racial elements of this story.

JON STEWART: So there is some racial elements in this story, some racism in this story.

LARRY WILMORE: Are you kidding me, Jon?  We had a Hispanic guy with a Jewish name killing a black guy??  It's gotta be in there somewhere!  I mean, good Lord!  OK, follow me, Jon.  George Zimmerman sees a black guy in a hoodie.  Black guys in hoodies have been reportedly been breaking into homes, so noticing him not racist, maybe a little race-y.

JON STEWART: Ah, but Zimmerman follows him even though the police told him not to.  That's gotta be race-ish.

LARRY WILMORE: Nah, that's just stupid.  OK, now after that point, we have different accounts of what happened.  But the one thing we know for sure is Zimmerman killed Trayvon and the police let him go.

JON STEWART: Ah!  So the police were racist....

LARRY WILMORE: Not this time.  They were following the law.  Now according to Stand Your Ground, as long as Zimmerman felt threatened, he had the right to respond with lethal force.

JON STEWART: So Stand Your Ground law is racist.  That is the... I get it now.

LARRY WILMORE: No, you don't get it, shut up.

JON STEWART: All right.

LARRY WILMORE: With this defense, you don't even have to go in front of a jury.  You tell the cops at the scene of the crime you were standing your ground, and they'll give you the benefit of the doubt.  That's the culprit.

JON STEWART: Ah-hah!  The benefit of the doubt... is racist!

LARRY WILMORE: Exactly, Jon.  Exactly.

JON STEWART: I don't know... wait, black people don't get the benefit of the doubt?

LARRY WILMORE: In shooting cases??  It's the one entitlement black people can't get from the government, Jon!  (audience ooooohs)  Oh, shut up.  Plaxico Burress went to prison for two years when his gun accidentally went off in his pants!  He couldn't get the benefit of the doubt for shooting himself!  By the way, black-on-black crime, widely reported.

JON STEWART: But, so, you think white people get more benefit of the doubt in shooting cases?

LARRY WILMORE: Well, maybe not even consciously, Jon.  But look, when Vice President Cheney shot his buddy in the face, aww, it was just two white guys having fun with guns!  Right?  Hey, you pumped your buddy full of bird shot?  You didn't mean that.  I give you the benefit of the doubt.  But come on, Jon.  Can you imagine if Obama shot Eric Holder in the face?  Come on.  Trust me, one of those fuckers would be going to jail.  The only thing in doubt would be the length of the sentence.

JON STEWART: Did you just call President Obama the n-word?

LARRY WILMORE: Of course not, Jon.  Give me the benefit of the doubt.  I was thinking of Eric Holder.  (kitchen timer goes off)

JON STEWART: That's it?  So soon?  Our five minutes is up?  Oh, I was going to ask you about cornrows!

LARRY WILMORE: It's not gangsta.

JON STEWART: Oh, all right, Larry.  Larry Wilmore, everybody.  We'll be right back.

Jon and Stephen also both covered the results from Tuesday's primaries, and what it means for Rick Santorum.  Stephen then showed his latest Colbert Super PAC commercial "helping" out Romney reach out to Latinos.
And Stephen won the Peabody Award for his segments educating Americans about Super PACs!
He also received another late night call from Wilford Brimley.

Jon interviewed former head of the Office of Legal Counsel during the Bush administration, Jack Goldsmith, about the limits of executive power, and Stephen talked with Titanic discoverer Robert Ballard.

Extended (Optional)

Originally posted to Electronic America: Progressives Film, music & Arts Group on Thu Apr 05, 2012 at 03:58 AM PDT.

Also republished by DKOMA and Protest Music.

EMAIL TO A FRIEND X
Your Email has been sent.