The Herblock Prize for excellence in editorial cartooning has apparently been on a mission to validate the Daily Kos comics section, having awarded its prize to Matt Wuerker in 2010, Matt Bors in 2012, and Dan Perkins (aka Tom Tomorrow) in 2013.

Today, it announced 2014 winner, Jen Sorensen, who also happens to be the first woman to win the prize.

Congratulations to Jen, who isn't just an awesome cartoonist, but an awesome person. She came up just short, as a finalist, in 2012, so it's great to see her get the recognition she deserves.

And continued props to the Herb Block Foundation for its continued recognition of alt cartoonist, long an under-appreciated art form.

Originally posted to kos on Tue Mar 04, 2014 at 12:31 PM PST.

Also republished by Comics.

Your Email has been sent.