They say that conceal carry holders in Texas have less crime, but calling for registration of gun owners, as required for conceal carry in Texas for example, would be fought tooth and nail as pre-confiscation of guns. If the crime rate for CC permit holders is lower in Texas could it be because they are under the heaviest gun control known to man? Any elected official proposing this method of lowering gun violence would be NRA recalled in a nano second.
Here's what it takes in Texas to be a member of the low crime rate conceal carry group. It's not a disco, it's not a party, it's no foolin' around.
In order to get a CC permit in Texas you have to furnish
You have to wait
Social security number,
Valid driver license or identification card,
Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information,
Residential and employment information for the last five years (new users only),
Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history (new users only),
Valid email address, and
Valid credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express)
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE
The Department will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet.
How much does a CC permit cost in Texas.
The standard fee for an original CHL is $140 (- 4 years). The standard fee for a renewal of a CHL is $70 (- 5 years).What about your fingerprints on file for a CC permit in Texas?
We will use existing fingerprints and photos on file for renewal applications.Got a DWI? you're gonna have to wait 5 years.
However, sometimes the quality of those prints originally submitted no longer meets the State or FBI standards. If we are unable to use the fingerprints on file, you will be notified to obtain a new set of prints along with instructions on where you must be fingerprinted.
DWI is classified as at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. For the purpose of determining eligibility, a conviction includes those that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication.Didn't pay child support? You're gonna have to pay up before you get a CC permit.
The Concealed Handgun law states an application for a CHL may be denied for individual finally determined to be delinquent in child support obligations.And you have to be trained, but that training is not cost regulated.
The Department does not regulate the cost charged by DPS certified instructors.
I have seen statistics that the CC permit holders are the lowest crime ridden group in Texas. But I also notice they are the most controlled gun owners in Texas.
Now that's some salad. Slicing and dicing. Don't cha know.
Tue Dec 03, 2013 at 3:20 PM PT: UPDATE. Thank you, thank you, Dkos Community!!!! My first diary to make 100 comments. Although that means nothing it is statistically relevant to me. YAY!!!
Oh I wanted to include links, I forgot. So here they are.